My toothpaste recipe

While surfing the internet looking for the best toothpaste I found out you can make your own. It seems that everyone else prefers some strange consistency (which is my opinion). I can’t figure out what their attraction to it is. Maybe you can tell me in the comments.

So here is my recipe which is quite abrasive and gets your teeth SQUEAKY clean!:

  • 30 ml (2 tablespoons) Baking Soda
  • 5 ml (1 teaspoon) salt (I use sea salt, but I’m sure that as long as it isn’t kosher salt it will work. Let me know if you do use kosher salt so I know if it works better or worse or is just absurd – since it’s coarser, right?)
  • 20 ml (4 teaspoons) glycerine (a skin protectant, good for chapped lips and now…. toothpaste!) You can find it at any food store in the pharmacy section (at least in Lincoln, Nebraska)
  • and 5 ml (1 teaspoon) of Anise Extract

The anise extract is what I like. I tried mint (too not like spearmint to care to try it again), orange (too not like orange and sweet, but not in a good way), and I haven’t tried cinnamon yet, but I’m liking anise too much right now.

Anise smells like licorice (or maybe licorice smells like anise). But your breath won’t really smell like licorice as I thought it would. Maybe I’m assuming that, though. My wife doesn’t like licorice (red Twizzlers are NOT licorice) and she hasn’t complained.

You can also add (I’d say) 5 milliliters (or 1 teaspoon) of Hydrogen Peroxide to whiten your teeth. I also want to warn you to NOT skip the salt. You might think the salt makes it… salty, but it’s better than the taste of baking soda AND (for some strange reason) it brings out the flavor of the anise.

So there you go. My recipe for my toothpaste. You can learn other ways of making it by going to http://www.youtube.com/ or http://www.google.com/ and just start typing “how to make your own toothpaste” with or without the quotes.

Let me know in the comments how it goes and if you like it or don’t!

This entry was posted in Interesting Stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

