Being Daddy, becoming a klutz

When I was a little kid I couldn’t figure it out. How was my Daddy SUCH a klutz?!

He would step on stuff that was right THERE on the floor – RIGHT IN FRONT OF HIM! I don’t know how he did it, but, in a moment, there would be broken toys and stuff and footprints on paper… what was WRONG with him?!

Then I had a baby boy (well, not me, my wife… and I want to say all sorts of things about how I had something to do with it and that part was fun, definitely funner than this labor part, but I won’t because that might be considered inappropriate). His name is Levi Joshua. He’s starting to talk/scream now and that’s pretty cool. He’s 4 months old now, by the way. My wife and I have been taking care of a beautiful and wonderful little girl since she was 5 months old. She’s now 3 1/2 years old. But that’s all I’m going to say about her for reasons some of you know.

She left toys out. I, being the ninja that I am, was able to walk softly on every eggshell she left on the floor and was able to float over the hedge maze of toys she might have left out. But then something happened. I had a son. Unlike her, loud noises will wake him. I guess that might be a difference because, since I’m getting less sleep, I must be losing my sense of balance and ninja-like reflexes. So when I stepped on a picture frame, which was left on the floor, and broke the glass I was surprised. No big deal, probly just an isolated incident. But then I started stepping on other toys, like dolls and necklaces. Things that were RIGHT THERE in front of my face. It doesn’t tickle when you step on those little plastic dolls that are really hard and try to break your arches so you have flat feet.

So I guess it’s all my fault that my Daddy’s a klutz (maybe). I’ll definitely give him the benefit of the doubt and, considering I’m going to be blaming my son for all of this, the benefit of having someone else to blame for his klutziness.

How many toys did your Daddy break? Are you a Daddy now and break toys and stuff, too? Will I ever catch up on sleep?

This entry was posted in Fatherhood and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

