OH MY GOD! OMG!

Here’s something I’m excited about that doesn’t get me down too much.

The exclamation, “OH MY GOD!” is also seen in the forms, “oh my gawd!”, “oh my gaw!”, “oh my gosh!”, and even, “garsh” (by Goofy, remember?)

The last four (or five, if you count the acronym) are all euphemisms for the first. None of them are better or worse than the first either. No matter what, you’re still either speaking nonsense in place of it or you are directly using the one true God’s name in vain.

I was once under a wrong impression pertaining to this. In Philippians 3:19 it says for them described as “the enemies of the cross of Christ”, “[their] god is their appetite”. Whenever I would hear someone say, “Oh my god!” I would replace the word “god” with “stomach” so that they were saying, “Oh my stomach!”. But it would be wrong to do this. They don’t say or mean their stomach, but it can only be an offense to the only one true God that exists. If they were honest, they would say, “oh my stomach!”, but they don’t. So if you hear someone say this, and if you call yourself a Christian, you better correct them because it might be a good work which God prepared in advance for you to do. But at least now I’m over the bubble in my throat and the anger that I would feel every time someone on TV would say it. God knew it would happen already and there’s nothing I can do about it (when the people are on TV).

As for what is wrong with “OMG!” and the other four aforementioned euphemisms… the problem with them is that they are, just that — euphemisms. So what’s wrong with euphemisms, right?

According to etymonline, euphemism comes from two Greek words, “eu-” meaning “good” and “pheme” meaning “speak” and it comes from an “ancient Greece practice of the superstitious avoidance of words of ill-omen during religious ceremonies, or substitutions such as Eumenides “the Gracious Ones” for the Furies (see also Euxine)”. So… why be superstitious? Why say “gosh” when you really mean “god”? God knows what you mean, don’t you think? You might not intend to offend God, but you are only replacing one word with another to make yourself feel better. Why spell, “gawd” or “gaw” if you’re not really from Beverly Hills or the valley or whatever it’s called and believe you should type like you speak?

So what should we say?

How about we do what’s described in Romans 14:19 by pursuing peace and building each other up. Granted, this is a strange text to use as [a] proof [text] since I’m not using it in the context in which it is used. If there’s a better verse to use please let me know.

How about, instead of being so surprised by what’s happening around us, we be still and know that [He] is God? Instead of having these words on the tips of our tongues when something surprises us, what if we rehearsed saying something like, “Praise God!” or “Thank you Jesus!”? Even when you hit your thumb with a hammer? Yes. Why not? You can do it and it’s even Biblical to do it.

Look at these verses, which tell us to be content with the money we make, the money we have, any food and clothing we own, and even whatever the circumstances are.

So… try it out this weekend and let me know how you succeeded or failed. I have to work on it myself even as I’m being sanctified.

This entry was posted in Etymology, Euphemisms and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

